SPD Support Forum

Full Version: New, Lost and a bit angry
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Everyone. I have been reading posts and stories on this website for a few days now. I am a mother to 2, yes 2 SPD boys, so I am not new to all the symptoms, meltdowns and crazy ups and downs of the SPD life. What I AM new to is being diagnosed with it myself after 39 years of feeling lost, confused and foreign to everything in life.
As soon as I found out about myself everything made sense and I felt so much relief to find out its an actual THING and not just me being weird and quirky (ok, I am weird and quirky) now it all makes sense.

I have been feeling a bit of anger lately realizing that I have been struggling with something for all these years and no one noticed, especially not my pedestrian who I was very close to all my child life.
As soon as I was diagnosed literally all these memories came flooding in. Has this ever happened to anyone? Like flashbacks of all the hellish panic attacks, tantrums, and moments of sheer humiliation from reactions I never understood to random things. I self diagnosed myself with Bi-Polar, Anxiety, ADD, BPD...you name it...but every time I looked at the symptoms it just didn't add up.
I have felt like a freak, an imposter, a complete alien for so long that I just learned to accept it.

Anyway, I wanted to list all my "issues" so that maybe some of you can see how you relate. I first want to start off by saying my 10 year old is a seeker and my 6 yr old son is an avoider. I find myself almost in the middle, but slightly reaching the avoider side.

These are things I deal with:
My sense of smell is insane. I can smell anything and if it's gross I wanna puke. Garlic is my nemeses. Its smell makes me down right angry. Vanilla and spicy scents calm me down. Anything floral makes me happy but not happy like normal happy, almost giddy and hyper.