SPD Support Forum

Full Version: New to this site
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello! My name is Rebecca and this is my first time to this site. I have a beautiful 2 year old daughter that was been recently diagnosed with SPD and I am searching out/reading everything I can get my hands on right now. This has been a long time in coming and feels a little frightening and relieving at the same time.

I spent a long time trying to convince doctors and others that something was indeed askew with my daughter, but I got a lot of people who thought I spoiled my daughter, or that I was being hyper sensitive, or making it up. I was told she'd grow out of it. I was told she just had a strong personality. I was told it was her birth order. I knew inside me that it was something more and I continued to push forward until we got answers that made sense. I am glad I did! Being sleep deprived for over 18 months, there were days I thought I might be going crazy! haha! But one day, I read a book called "The Out of Sync Child" and all the alarms in my head went off. Then I created a list of all my daughters "symptoms/behaviors". I sat down with our pediatrician and read him the list. He FINALLY got it! It has been a long journey even from that point, but we are awaiting our packet to get started with OT and a Child Psychologist, and I couldn't be more excited! It's nice to read about all the different therapies that help children with this, and I am finding out that my instincts have been right. I have been doing informal OT with her for a long time now. I just listened to her cues and expanded upon them. Now trying to educate my husband about this.