SPD Support Forum

Full Version: misdiagnosed
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everyone,
I am new to the thread but not new to SPD. I am a mother of a 15 year old that was diagnosed 11 years ago. He was also diagnosed with ADHD, dyslexia, auditory and visual processing disorders. Today his doctor told me he doesn't show ADHD signs but more SPD, Auditory, and Visual processing disorders. Have others been misdiagnosed and medicated for the wrong thing? I don't feel like a good mom right now. How do you handle it?Huh
I think there is a lot of confusion between ADHD and SPD - my daughter with SPD goes from really hyperactive to exhausted and is in both cases rather inattentive so I can certainly see how this would happen. I'm sorry it's making you feel like a bad mom - you do the best you can with what you know at the time right? Are you considering doing OT or other therapies with him? What does he think about it?
Hi. My son was just diagnosed with SPD too. He is only 9 months old. Not sure if it is anything more than this as of yet, but defiinte SPD. We are in OT 2 times per week for it. We just started last week. If it makes you feel any better, we did not know if my son was hypothyroidism or Gilbert's at a very young age. He was misdiagnosed with Gilbert's and we took him off the thyroid medicine that he needed for a period of 3 weeks and he regressed and developed SPD. Like Angela said, we do the best we can with the info that we have. I was trying to protect my son and take him off a hormone that we did not think he needed and was supposed to take for 3 years. It was a mistake, but it hurt my son and I too, have feelings of being a "bad Mom" as well. Hang in there. We are all here to support one another. You are a good Mom and have been trying to do the best you know how for your child this entire time!

Ashlee