SPD Support Forum

Full Version: New here and to SPD
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey everyone,

I am new to this sight and new to the diagnosis of SPD, not for me yet (hoping to get some insite there), but for my son. He was recently diagnosed and we are attending OT once a week with appointments through the end of June for now. I am so relieved that we have found out what was up with all his "quirks."

I found out about SPD searching (like most I have read) through asperger's. However (also like most here) I did not think that aperger's was the correct diagnosis. while doing my research I came across a link to a discription of SPD and decided that my son strongly displayed 9 of the 14 symtoms listed there. We went to the pediatrition to have an ADHD evaluation (which is what his school wanted) and ended up with and ADHD diagnosis and a referal to an OT. Within one appointment she could tell he was an SPD kid for sure.

Now that we have my son diagnosed I have ralized that I displayed as a child or even still now display certian syptoms of this disfunction. for example:

-I was also diagnosed with ADHD as a child and placed on meds
-I am "dyslexic" (maybe not so much now that I have read adult symptoms of SPD, letter reversal, difficulty reading, not knowing right from left, etc.)
-had a hard time learning to read an analoge clock (still takes me a min)
-hard time learning to ride my bike and tieing my shoes
-while reading the words would "jump around on the page"
-I STILL gag when trying to eat onion (raw, cooked or other wise) BUT I can eat onion rings, one spacific type of green chili salsa, and my dads fience has discovered that if she blends the onion into a pulp that i can eat her spagetti sauce.
- I am very emotional (recently diagnosed with Anxiety issues)
-I don't just get upset I "freek out" or I guess meltdown
-I am very hard on myself