SPD Support Forum

Full Version: New learning
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Good afternoon, I am new to all this. I am in this forum on behalf of my 5 year old son. He has not been diagnosed as of yet but I am in the process of getting there! People keep telling me it is ADHA but I have my doubts. I have done many of the check list and it is like he was studied in order to make up the list! I get frusturated because I don't know how to deal with this, I find it hard sometimes to realize what he needs! He has 2 other sibilings and they find it very diffucult to deal with as well, they don't understand why he is the way he is! My son likes to be load and rough, more so when he is around more than 1-2 people! The only way I can describe it is, when he waslks into a room he sucks an ounce of energy out of every person then it over flows and he can't control it! I am in the process of getting him some tools what are some of you favorite tools?

Thanks

SOmething else I am quickly becoming aware of is: I may have this also!!! I see so much of myself in my son it is scary!
Hello and welcome to the site Smile

Well I can say you are taking the first step in the SPD process which is educating yourself. I also have a 6 year old who is ADHD but I believe she also has SPD. She has characteristics of both. She just isn't as severe as her 2 sister who also have SPD. From what I have understood, ADHD and SPD can go hand in hand. There is a great article on the site that talks about SPD and ADHD, you should check it out.
I myself recently found out that I have it SPD as well and guess what, I also have ADHD LOL.
Hang in there, you are doing great. It's tuff but that is why this site is here Smile